Python Forum
HELP - Returning self numbers lower or equal to my argument
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
HELP - Returning self numbers lower or equal to my argument
Hello,

I am a student and a beginner in learning python coding, and I'm stuck on a self-numbers exercise, where I'm asked to return, from the ListeAuto(N) function, all self-numbers lower or equal to N with N belonging to N*.

But my function returns all the numbers between 1 and N, and I don't understand why :

def ListeAuto(N) :
    atnb=[]
    for k in range(1,N+1) :
        atnb.append(k)
        sommek=0
        for s in (list(int(c) for c in str(k))) :
            sommek+=k
        for n in atnb :
            if n==(sommek+k) :
                atnb.remove(n)
    return(atnb)
Can you help me finding the solution to my problem ? Thank you in advance.
Line 3 should be:

for k in range(1, N):
The range function returns an iterator through all the numbers starting at the first number and up to but not including the top number. So range(1, 5) goes through 1, 2, 3, and 4, but not 5. So by using N + 1, it was including N.
Craig "Ichabod" O'Brien - xenomind.com
I wish you happiness.
Recommended Tutorials: BBCode, functions, classes, text adventures
But are you sure? Because I was asked to return slef numbers lower or "equal" to N. k therefore has to take N+1 as value in range function to ensure that the self numbers returned list will include N if it is one.
And the original problem remains ; the function, even replacing N+1 by N, will give me the list of all the numbers lower or equal to N-1, and not the list of self numbers specifically.