Python Forum
An email with inline jpg cannot be read by all email clients
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
An email with inline jpg cannot be read by all email clients
I'm writing a simple script to send email with inline picture in Python 3.5; because I'm a beginner I take the example on the official doc: 19.1.14.1. Examples using the Provisional API

Well, the generated email can be correctly read by Thunderbird but not on other email clients like Apple Mail and Gmail web based email.

Comparing the same message (with the same attachment) it seems that the inline attachment is encoded differently.

On the example, only the line:

with open("roasted-asparagus.jpg", 'rb') as img:
    msg.get_payload()[1].add_related(img.read(), 'image', 'jpeg', cid=asparagus_cid)
...should make the magic to read the jpg and encode it properly.

Anybody with similar experiences and / or suggestions?

There is a complete Python high level library to correctly handle the building and sending of emails with attachments? The built in library (smtplib) seems too much low level... in PHP there is PHPMailer: Something similar in Python?

Thanks for answer.

Francesco
Could you share the generated email? I don't know a whole lot about the python interface (I wrote something that uses inline images in C#), but if we can see the actual email that's getting sent, we can maybe figure out what's up.

Some email clients (...Outlook and Gmail, off the top of my head) will NOT show inline images from untrusted sources. So it might be working totally fine, but you have to click a link/button in order to have the images actually show up in the client.
Well, I dig further. :-)

With python 3.5 I have this issue; with python 3.6 everything seems to works fine.

Some differences

Here is an encoded attachment generated by python 3.5:
Output: