Python Forum
Analyzing yearly expenses (CSV file) from debit card
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Analyzing yearly expenses (CSV file) from debit card
Hello,

I am quite new with programming in Python and now I have started my (kind of) 'first' project in Python. I want to analyse my yearly expenses and I think pandas is the best way to give a clear overview with a chart.

The query:
  • I have a yearly overview of expenses in a CSV file (see attached). This is an example, not my 'real' expenses Tongue
  • The lay-out of the csv file ins't clear, so I want to change it. Preferred is have all the columns 'Alligned left' and the first row (headers) should be Bold.
  • The output of the chart should visualize my expenses monthly. In the end I want to have an overview in which month the expenses are high and in which months the expenses are relative low.
  • If the analysis is done and the chart is made. I want to save the file with _MODIFIED added to the original file.

I tried starting this project with open and edit a CSV file using the following code:
import csv
from pathlib import Path
from tkinter.filedialog import askopenfilename
import sys

def read_csv_file(filename):
    parts = list(filename.parts)
    parts[-1] = f"{filename.stem}Modified{filename.suffix}"
    parts[0] = ''
    outfilename = Path(f"{'/'.join(parts)}")

print(f"new output file name: {outfilename}")

with filename.open() as fp, outfilename.open('w') as fout:
        crdr = csv.reader(fp, delimiter=',')
        cwrtr = csv.writer(fout, delimiter=',')
        for row in crdr:
            print(row)
            # Modify row as desired here
            cwrtr.writerow(row)

def get_filename():
    badcount = 0

while(True):
        try:
            if badcount > 2:
                print("Three strikes and your out!")
                sys.exit(-1)
            filename = Path(askopenfilename(filetypes=[("CSV files","*.csv")]))
            break
        except TypeError: