Python Forum
Approach to coding, good/bad
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Approach to coding, good/bad
Hello all,
this question is about coding generally. But if the answer might contain someting Python-specific, do point it out.

I noticed that with coding, I tend to take the approach:
  • write all the code for what the program should do, the way it feels most right/correct
  • execute it and correct/modify it step by step, as the execution hits (numerous) errors
What do you as experienced coders think of that? It kind of works for me and brings success so far. But at the same time it feels like quite an immature strategy, which could just be my comfort zone. Does it need (minor) improvements? Should I change the approach completely? Is there a logical next step in the process of learning to code?
Thanks for comments!
I'm not an experienced coder, but I pretty much follow the same strategy.  Initially, I will write my code without regard to making it 'pythonic'.  My overriding goal is that it works.  Afterwards I will try to 'break' it, then do my best to correct those problems. Finally, I will work on refining the code.  For me, the last part is the hardest as it usually involves considerable time with my nose stuck in the doc's.  As I learn more, though, I notice that step one and step three are slowly merging
If it ain't broke, I just haven't gotten to it yet.
OS: Windows 10, openSuse 42.3, freeBSD 11, Raspian "Stretch"
Python 3.6.5, IDE: PyCharm 2018 Community Edition