Python Forum
Approach to creating Audit table
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Approach to creating Audit table
I am very very new to Python and the problem i have might be very easy for python pro's.

I am working on an assignment in which there is a part which is :

Create an Audit table in which row is inserted when all the tables are loaded with timestamp.

import pandas as pd
df = pd.DataFrame(data,columns=['Load Status','Updated Timestamp'])
. -- Creating data frame to apply logic

df_.to_sql("Audit Table ", conn, if_exists="replace", index=False) -- creating table into database.

Not sure how to tackle it or what is the right approach to achieve it.
This is homework, as such, it is best for you to make your best effort THEN post asking questions about what you are having trouble with.
Thanks for replying.

It would have been easy for me to tackle it in 'non-python' world. As i already mentioned , i am pretty new in this
and wanted to know the approach (not the solution).
Only reason i was prompted to this forum was to get some direction and it seems i am in wrong forum.
(Feb-21-2020, 08:14 PM)pynewbie Wrote: Only reason i was prompted to this forum was to get some direction and it seems i am in wrong forum.
It's difficult to address vague questions. "Create an Audit table..." Perhaps you know what that means within the context of your course, but I don't. Does it require Pandas? What exactly is your assignment? We prefer code attempts to what I'm asking for here, and I'm not sure where your code falls into that, since I'm not clear on the requirements.
Here's my attempt at explanation and again i am very very new to Python :

Assignment : Read the csv files and load the data into tables in postgres database.

Code for reading and loading the files into postgres tables is working.(utilized pandas , numpy , sqlalchemy )

Requirement : Need to account whether the script ran fine and all tables got loaded.