Python Forum
Asking for help in my code for a "Guess the number" game.
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Asking for help in my code for a "Guess the number" game.
Hey all, I'm pretty new to Python, well new might be an understatement.
I've been tasked to create one of those guess the number games. One of my friends was nice enough to let me use his code as a base. All I'm capable of is rephrasing some print messages, comments, variables, and fixing some really basic problems. But being as green as grass has really made this a struggle for me. Wall
I seem to have broken the code, as it's now getting errors. Doh

I'd like to ask for help from anyone, any and all help is appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

The code:
import random #Brings in Python's built-in random module.

#This variable is currently set to false. It determines whether the player has won or not. When this is true, the game has ended and the player has won.
player_win == False 

#The set of code below begins the program by asking what the player's name is.
while player_win == False:
    print("Hello, and welcome to the program!")
player_name = input("Please enter your name to continue! \n What is your name? \n :") #This variable will store what the player has entered when they are asked to input a name.
if player_name.isalpha(): #This code makes it so that players can only enter alphabetic characters as their name.
        break

#After the player has entered their name, it will greet them using the name they entered.
print("Hey {}, let's get started!".format(player_name))
print("I'm thinking of a number between 1 - 20, can you guess what it is? \n Be careful though, because you only have 7 lives! \n Oh, and I'll give you clues by telling you if the number is higher or lower than your guess!")

invalid_response = False #This is a variable that checks whether or not the player has entered an invalid response.