Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 4 Average
Async for loop
Well, I am not a programmer and lots of programming concepts are unknown for me be but this is a process after all. Slowly but I have some progress.

It seems like Asyncio is becoming the new religion which could make a huge difference how we write code. Sort of...
I admit that I still don't understand how it works. It is not a small library and even getting the basics of all of that is not easy for me.

Half a year ago I wrote a script to get a bunch of emails from a web site. It was relatively easy but I've wanted to make some improvements. So I have decided to scrape all pages concurrently. It was not an easy for me ( first time doing that ) and I ended up with concurrent.futures.ProcessPoolExecutor.

Now, I am going to try a different approach. Using the asyncio standard library.
What is basically I need is to open each URL from a list of some web pages address and get what I want.

After this prelude lets see how all this works. I got it finally Angel

Asyncio can be used in for loop which sounds wonderful but I have missed something when I tried it the first time.
The sintax:
async for element in iterable:
    print(element)
Pretty awesome, huh?  Simple enough.
Not exactly.

async for char in "So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish":
    print(char)
just doesn't work Dodgy SyntaxError... Realy?

In order to be possible, the iterable have to be an Asynchronous Iterable. According to PEP492 it must implement two methods. __aiter__ which returns asynchronous iterator object and __anext__ which returns awaitable object. Alright! Awaitable?
Quote: 
  • A native coroutine object returned from a native coroutine function.
  • A generator-based coroutine object returned from a function decorated with types.coroutine().
  • An object with an __await__ method returning an iterator.

Still don't get it but let's give it a try.

class Aiter :
    def __init__(self, iterable):