Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Attendence System
Hi there.
I am a bit of a newbie to python so i may need a bit more help than normal.
I am trying to program a raspberry pi using python to create an attendance system at work. I would like it to have a small LCD display and use a USB keypad for staff to input their code.

The idea is as a member of staff comes into work they would type their code in the pi would recognize it and clock them in with a time stamp. At the end of the day when they have finished they would then type their code in again and it would clock them out also putting a time stamp on it. As they clocked in or out it would just say on the screen their name and that they had clocked in/out.
All of the clocking in and out data would be stored in a separate file so it can be then viewed on a computer at a later date. it would be useful if it made a new file each month but this is not compulsory.

I have seen a couple of systems like this with guides but they use RFID tag readers as we have a lot of freelance staff in it is impractical to give them all tags. Much easier to add them into the system and give them a 4 digit code.

I know that something like this is possible, just wondering am i attempting something way out of my depth. I said i would give it a go before we have to spend hundreds of pounds on a full system that will do the same thing. + I love a good challenge.

If anyone has some tips and advice or good sources that i can get some guides that would be great.

Thanks in advance for any help
Elliott
My first suggestion is... don't use files. You probably don't want the data on the pi, you probably want it in a database that your accounting people can get to easily. Plus, a pi is a pretty small thing... if someone grabs it off the wall (or it gets wet or something), you just lose all your time clock data.