Python Forum
Automated compile - Multiple Target OS?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Automated compile - Multiple Target OS?
I've just started to play with FastLane and GitLab Runner for some XCode work and am really liking the automated build, test, deploy process.

I was wondering is whether there is something similar in the Python land that would automate the build and deploy process but deploy Python executables for OSX, Linux and Windows?
All depends on what you are looking for.

For example, you can run Colab from Google and do AI using Tensorflow on a Chromebook, phone, or any OS you named. Since Python normally is an interpreted language, it will run on any computer for which there is a Python interpreter, which is all of those mentioned and many more.

And I was an Apple developer writing iPhone and iPad apps using XCode and must say that Python is far more intuitive, and you are less likely to have an adverse experience like I did with the Apple store. Doesn't cost $100 per year and doesn't require you to use an (IMHO overpriced) Mac for development.

Depends on what you want to do and who your audience may be.
Thanks for the speedy reply.

XCode stuff is for work, my day job in supporting our Xcode devs.

Python is what I do in my spare time and I code some bots for a small group of users that typically use either on *nix (run as a python script) or Windows (single file executable). But if I could streamline the process it would be a huge timesaver for me too as well as being able to move to single file executable for both platforms and introduce MacOS at the same time.

All I want to do is something along the lines of:

Code commit -> build -> test -> deploy as a release (3 target OS's) on a git page

As soon as I get a chance, I shall look into Colab.