Python Forum
Automating a Data Extraction Process
Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 3.33 Average
Automating a Data Extraction Process
Hi everyone,

First of all, this is my first proper post on Python-Forum, so please excuse any poor forum etiquette on my part... Blush

I want to automate a repetitive computational procedure - nothing new, right! Unfortunately, I have no experience in programming, so in fact it is new for me...

Rather than explain everything here, I have put together a PDF which clearly details the steps which I would like to automate using Python:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ng4573puyyq0o2...n.pdf?dl=0

Judging from other threads, you guys seem very helpful. This would genuinely be a useful tool for me, which would allow me to easily extract data from the 3D simulation package that I use.

If this program will be too difficult to create in a short time, please let me know why!

Let me know what you think, guys!

Thanks,
Harrison
As described, this is just making Python replace your fingers. What are the chances that these applications have a programming interface that could be used directly? Since these apps are professional engineering apps, they likely stick to some standard and there may be python libraries to use the data directly.
Unless noted otherwise, code in my posts should be understood as "coding suggestions", and its use may require more neurones than the two necessary for Ctrl-C/Ctrl-V.
Your one-stop place for all your GIMP needs: gimp-forum.net
As a general rule, we don't write things for people. We help them to figure out how they can do it themselves.
If that's something you're interested in, we can offer tips on how to get started.
If that's NOT what you're after, and was just hoping to have a working solution, there are a couple other directions you can go (such as Fiverr.com).
Hi guys,

Thanks for your replies!