Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
[Basic] Python3 mental model
Python 3 mental model

I am new to Python and have no computer science background. Even though there are lots of excellent resources and guides to learn Python, I have not found a good resource to help build a mental model of how Python works, especially for people with no computer science back ground.

Here is my attempt at building one such mental model of Python 3, with the help of a story. This was inspired by the talk of Brandon Rhodes. I have also prepared some example code files as Jupyter notebook files to test the model, which I am gradually building at my Github page. I thought this might be useful to other beginner learners as well. I am also hoping to get some feedback, to correct and improve my own mental model.

STORY
Imagine Python 3 as a magical realm. There are few things in this realm.
There is a Genie, a big recycle bin and lots of sleeping princesses.
Thank you,
Satya.

Genie:
This is the Python language it self, to whom you need to make requests with special incantations(syntax). The genie makes any “object” you want, as long as you use the special incantations. If you ask for another object, the genie does not store the object it just created but just tosses it in the recycle bin (most of the time) and makes a new object for you. If your incantation is incorrect the genie complains with error message.

Objects:
Well, the genie can’t give you any object you want (that was a lie, unfortunately) but some objects which have specific properties. We will discuss 4 of these objects here. These are numbers, words, trains and magic spell boxes. Python can make other objects called locked_trains(tuples), named_trains(dictionaries), bookmarks(generators) etc.

Numbers(integers):