Python Forum
Beginning Payroll code help
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Beginning Payroll code help
Hello to all!
I am a student currently enrolled in a python class at Utica College. This is my first programming language and I am struggling to understand everything and even write the code to the program the teacher wants. We are currently in chapter 3 of Introduction to Programming Using Python, the homework help I need is for 3.9 Payroll.

The instructions are as follows: Write a program that reads the following information and prints a payroll statement.
Employee's name
Number of hours worked in a week
Hourly pay rate
Federal Tax withholding rate
State tax withholding

I have written the following, but need help on figuring out how to find the Gross pay. If I could get some help on what I am missing as I am sure it is very basic and so simple that I am making it very difficult.

# Employee name
employeeName = (input("Enter employee name: "))

# Number of hours worked in a week (e.g. 10)
hoursWorked = (input("Enter hours for one week: "))

# Hourly pay rate (e.g., 14.64)
payRate = (input("Enter pay rate: $ "))

# Federal tax withholding rate (e.g., 20%)
federalTax = (input("Enter federal tax: "))

# State tax withholding rate (e.g., 9%)
stateTax = (input("Enter state tax: "))

# Gross Pay
grossPay = hoursWorked * payRate
(This comes back as a syntax error message)
Do you provide any input before you get the syntax error? Are you using Python 2 or Python 3?
Our class is using Python 3. Not I don't provide input before the syntax error as I am trying to find the grossPay I thought the syntax is correct in finding it. I wanted to take hoursWorked * payRate. but this isn't correct
In both Python versions, I get prompted for your code. Try copying the code on this page into your text editor and see if you still get a syntax error. If so, please post a screenshot, because I'm baffled (unless you're using Python 2 accidentally).