Python Forum
Best software for creating charts????
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Best software for creating charts????
I am still new to Python, so my wording of the question may not be quite right.  I will need to produce charts (nothing very fancy, primarily stacked bar charts, but line charts as well) in my current project.

I was wondering if anyone had recommendations as to which library (I think that is the correct term) to import -- one that can a novice like me can understand, easiest to use, good colors, etc etc.

Thanks
Matplotlib would be the go-to - http://matplotlib.org/users/pyplot_tutorial.html
thank you -- will check it out
I use the PyCharm IDE. I also have Python 3.6 installed, but have not used it. Do I have to download Matplotlib? I ask because when I keyed in "import matplotlib.pyplot as plt" at the top of my program in Pycharm as one of the examples in the tutorial said to do, it gave me an error "no module named Matplotlib"

Is there something else I need to do?? Again, I am new to this stuff. Thanks
I guess you use Windows.
Matplotlib has C dependencies,so you use wheel from Gohlke.
There are minimum Requires: numpy, dateutil, pytz, pyparsing, cycler, setuptools.

All installasjon is done with pip.
pip should be installed when you did install Python 3.6.
Start cmd and post back what pip -V return.
Eg:
C:\WINDOWS\system32>cd\
C:\>pip -V
pip 9.0.1 from c:\python36\lib\site-packages (python 3.6)

C:\>
pip 8.1.2 from c:\users\dennis\appdata\local\programs\python\python36\lib\site-packages (python 3.6)
First upgrade pip.
python -m pip install -U pip
Then test that it work.
pip install python-dateutil
Then we take the rest,if this work.
do I do that at the windows cmd prompt?

I tried what you said at the windows command prompt. It went through some stuff and said " you are using pip version 8.1.2, however 9.0.1 is available. You should consider upgrading via the 'python - m pip install --upgrade pip' command.