Python Forum
Any pointers on my programm before I hand it in?(I'm new to python, so go easy on me)
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Any pointers on my programm before I hand it in?(I'm new to python, so go easy on me)
import random
import sys
import time
# generate random word
list_w = ["broad", "apple", "banana", "strawberry"]

# the blanks equal the length of the word
# list_space = ["-"] * len(word)

# create the function for the game

def random_word():
    global word
    global list_space1
    global guessed_letters
    global wrong_guesses
    word = random.choice(list_w)
    list_space1 = ["-"] * len(word)
    guessed_letters = []
    wrong_guesses = []
    print("".join(list_space1))

#if "-" not in list_space1:
 #   print("You have guessed the word")

def run():
    if "-" not in list_space1:
        print("You have guessed the word!\n")
        # ask if you want to close the programm
        ask = input("Do you want to play again?\n")

# you call the random function again because it was called once in 
        # the beginning.
        if ask == "Yes" or ask == "yes":
            random_word()

elif ask == "no" or ask == "No":
            time.sleep(1)
            sys.exit()

answer = input("Guess a letter: \n")

# check if answer in word
    # loop through all the numbers in range(len(word))
    # if word len = 4 then loop through range(4)
    # if answer == word[i]
    # list_space[i] = answer\

# when loop again it checks if you guessed the letter
    # if so print etc. This shouldnt change the for loop.
    if answer in guessed_letters:
        print("You already guessed that!")
    # if answer is not in the word, add that answer
    # to wrong guesses
    elif answer not in word:
        print("Wrong guess!")
        wrong_guesses.append(answer)

# only if answer not in guessed_letters, execute for loop.   
    elif answer not in guessed_letters and answer not in wrong_guesses:
        print("It's in the word")