Python Forum
Can't edit code after I've pressed enter.
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 2.5 Average
Can't edit code after I've pressed enter.
This is a general problem I've been having trying to learn Python using the documents that come with it. And I should note, I'm only starting to learn code. All I've learned so far in college is HTML and some Visual Basic code. I haven't even gotten the opportunity to work with C++ yet. Though I did dabble a bit in it in a class that essentially had you dabling in various programming languages. I think all I learned was how to use an 'if' command.

Anyway, if a I type in a code wrong, it gives me an error message, and completely screws up the program I was trying to write (a very common thing I do is forget to put in a ':' ). I'm certain everyone is aware that the program does that, but to me it just looks ludicrously impractical. You can't go back and edit lines after you've pressed enter, meaning that if you made a mistake, you have to start all over, or at least go back to your last save. Why does the program even work like this? It just makes writing code even more of a head ache than it needs to be. And I've seen videos on youtube of people editing their lines of code. I don't get why I can't. And even if you do make a mistake, if you decide to change something later on, well you just have to re-write the entire program from scratch, purely because you can't change a command line you typed earlier. And looking at youtube videos, they tend to jump around their code all the time.

I can't find any information in the documents or online as to why I can't do this.

And I know this forum apparently requires you to enter in a code you're having a problem with. But this doesn't have anything to do with a specific line of code. I'm struggling with the IDE itself!