Python Forum
Can't install pip for Python 3.7.4 in Ubuntu virtual OS
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Can't install pip for Python 3.7.4 in Ubuntu virtual OS
I'm trying to set up Python 3.7.4 on a virtual Ubuntu OS (version 15.04) running in VMWare so that I can use it to run a Linux script that someone wrote to convert a MuseScore file to a Synth V file, but everything I've tried has failed. I keep getting a message saying that pip can't be found. I'm not a Python programmer and don't plan to become one. I just need to have a functional Python 3 installation in order to run this script. The reason I need to install pip is that I need to install click because the script imports click and re before it starts to execute its commands. I've tried to contact the creator of the script, but he hasn't responded to any of my messages, so I decided to come here for help. He lives in Croatia and I live in New Mexico. I had originally installed Python 3.8 on my Windows 10 computer but the script wouldn't produce a correct output file after I got Python running and click installed. So, I decided to install Ubuntu on VMWare so that I could run the script on a Linux OS because it was created using Python 3.7 on Linux. I've probably spent about ten hours on this today already, so I'm getting very frustrated. Any help would be appreciated greatly!
I had to install pip for 3.6 first

sudo apt install python3-pip
now you can install python 3.7

sudo apt install python3.7
and then I could install pip for 3.7

python3.7 -m pip install pip
and as a bonus, to install other modules just preface with

python3.7 -m pip install <module>
I tried that, but it came back and said that it couldn't locate package python3-pip.

I also tried some of the steps that are suggested on the following page but without success:

https://askubuntu.com/questions/1061486/...h-18-04-in