Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Case Sensitivity
Hello, this is my first post. I'm a complete newbie in coding and I ran into a brick wall. I need to make the comparison between two lists case insensitive and no idea how to incorporate it into the code. I know it has to do something with .lower() but no idea how. I would appreciate the help. Thanks
current_users=['sandra', 'brigita', 'bri','deivis', 'raimis']
new_users=['bri', 'billy', 'minde', 'erika', 'edminrika', 'RAIMIS']
for new_user in new_users:
    if new_user in current_users:
        print(new_user+" "+"already exists."+" "+"You need to choose a different name.\n")
    else:
        print(new_user+" "+"is available.")
Assuming your current_users list is all lowercase. You just need to convert your new_user name into lowercase before checking if it's in the current_users list.

You can do that with .lower() function.
current_users=['sandra', 'brigita', 'bri','deivis', 'raimis']
new_users=['bri', 'billy', 'minde', 'erika', 'edminrika', 'RAIMIS']
for new_user in new_users:
    if new_user.lower() in current_users:
        print(new_user+" "+"already exists."+" "+"You need to choose a different name.\n")
    else:
        print(new_user+" "+"is available.")
Every string object has a str.lower() method which you can use to convert all letters to lowercase

victor ~ $ python
Python 3.6.2 (default, Jul 20 2017, 03:52:27)
[GCC 7.1.1 20170630] on linux
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> "D. Trump".lower()
'd. trump'
>>>
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org
Simple yet so complicated :) Thank you very much. Sorry about the tag.
>>> dir("D. Trump")