Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Checking Social Security
for my project to check social security:

I am wondering if they are correct to run, but seem programming did not do anything

I don't know if it is right:
def main():
    ssn = eval(input("Please enter your Social Security "))

def Check(ssn):
    if len(ssn) == ssn[0:3] and ssn[5:6] and ssn[8:11] == ssn.isdigit():
        if len(ssn) == ssn[4 and 7] == "-":
            print("Your Social Security is valid")

else:
            print("Your Social Security is invalid")
main()
anyone will help, I will appreciate it, I am still learning to programming in python, soon change to Julia programming

Thank you so much
First of all, you never call the Check function to test the ssn that is entered. Second, the conditionals in the Check function are completely messed up. len(ssn) should be compared to an integer, not a string, which is what ssn[0:3] is. You put ssn[5:6] between two ands, so all that will be check is whether there is anything in there. And note that ssn[5:6] is only one character. I think what you want is to check each slice of ssn with isdigit, and and together those. Also note that you cannot use and within a slice, as you did with ssn[4 and 7]. Well, you can, but I doubt it's going to give you what you expected.

You really need to go over slicing and conditionals.
Craig "Ichabod" O'Brien - xenomind.com
I wish you happiness.
Recommended Tutorials: BBCode, functions, classes, text adventures
I did call the function, look at

def main():

then I wrote main() at bottom of programming screen "main()"

is it still wrong?

Also, I thought [5:6] is consider 5th string and 6th string to check, then separate the dash in 4 and 7 string to check to see if someone type the dash.
Does it mean, I have to program [5] and [6] or how to make work with numeric symbol?

if you said len is good for integer, then what is name of code to read as string?