Python Forum
Class Instances called in the wrong order
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Class Instances called in the wrong order
Hi,

I started playing around with classes and defined two classes A and B. The first one with a __init__(self) method and the second one without. Just to figure out what happens in __init__

class A:

def __init__(self):
        print("this is a test")

class B:

print("this is a second test")

a1 = A()
b1 = B()

The output is the following:
this is a second test
this is a test
Now why exactly does python call the second instance first even though the first instance is first in the code?
Pretty sure this question popped up before but I didn't know how to search for it.

Regards
Ian
Your major problem is that they aren't really classes.

The _init_ says what the instance will be like the moment it is made. Neither of those have anything about them. They don't make a thing. They are just print statements. Classes are blueprints for making objects.

Now that you have them, you have no way to tell them what to do, because they can't do anything.

Here is a super helpful video you will like:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZDa-Z5JzLYM&t=1s
The answer to the question, though, is that the call to print in B is run when the class is defined (i.e. when the interpreter reads the block under class B:), while the call to print in A is only run when that class' __init__ is called.
(Mar-06-2020, 04:47 AM)michael1789 Wrote: Your major problem is that they aren't really classes
That statement is not true. This is valid code and they are classes all right. But I will come to that after I answer OP question.

The print function in class B get executed once and only once - at the time of class definition and only then, i.e. it will never be executed again. You are wrong in your assumption that class B print is executed at the time of instance creation (i.e. second).