Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Combining several py files
Hi,

I’m building an alarm clock based on the Raspberry Zero board, a LED display (https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-led-...t-backpack) and a vibration motion (as a switch) - no buttons used.

The local time comes from the board’s OS and the alarm time is set via a local web page. The latter stores 4 variables in a text file: hour, minutes, alarm ON/OFF and if activated on weekends (YES/NO).

My mainfile.py starts at power up and trough a ‘While(True)’ loop displays the actual time.

I’m new to Python so I’m looking for some directions and not necessary a code.

Having said that, my question is how do I interface with the mainfile.py the following files?

beep.py – generates a beep in a loop for two minutes unless the vibration sensor is activated.
alarm.py – reads the text file and compares the actual time with the one set from the web page if there’s a match, then runs beep.py.

I imagine that all the files need to go in the While loop or do they go through a different thread?

TIA
you can add a a program named zero.py to run all the other modules.
this is an example of how this is done (replacing with your modules, of course)
zero.py (Note: import order is not important here, nor is order of execution:
import program3
import program1
import program2

def zero():
    print('Starting zero\n')
    program3.p3()

program1.p1()

program2.function2()

if __name__ == '__main__':
    zero()
program1.py:
def p1 ():
    print("Hello, I am program 1")

p1()
program2.py:
# program2 has functions

def function1():
    print('I am function 1')

def function2():
    print('I am function 2')

function1()
    function2()
program3.py:
def p3 ():
    print("Hello, I am program 3")

p3()
running from command line:
python zero.py
output:
Output:
Starting zero Hello, I am program 3 Hello, I am program 1 I am function 2
@Larz60+ Thank you for your time and for getting back to me.