Python Forum
(Complete Novice) Code not working
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
(Complete Novice) Code not working
Hey guys, so grateful if you can help. I'm absolutely new to both program language and Python, but determined to get some proficiency here. Using Python 3.7 I entered this code:

name="David"
surname="Hayward"
print (name, surname)

a="Python"
b="is"
c="cool!"
print(a, b, c)

name=input("What is your name? ")
input("Hello,", name)
The Consule shows the following output:

Output:
David Hayward Python is cool! What is your name?
According to the tutorial, it should give the following output though:

Output:
David Hayward Python is cool! What is your name? David Hello, David
Any idea why it is not reading David and Hello, David ?
Surely input("Hello,", name) is incorrect - don't you mean print?
on line 10 you take input from user. That means when it print What is your name? you need to enter your name and press Enter
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

(Mar-21-2020, 05:18 PM)ndc85430 Wrote: Surely input("Hello,", name) is incorrect - don't you mean print?

It's written as input in the textbook I'm using, but print doesn't work either
(Mar-21-2020, 05:18 PM)ndc85430 Wrote: Surely input("Hello,", name) is incorrect - don't you mean print?

Maybe it's in order to prevent cmd window from closing if they click on py file in order to execute it (on Windows)
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

When you have input you expect input from user, i.e. script is running and waiting for input from you.
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

(Mar-21-2020, 05:19 PM)buran Wrote: on line 10 you take input from user. That means when it print What is your name? you need to enter your name and press Enter