Python Forum
Copying from windows Clipboard
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Copying from windows Clipboard
hello everybody,
I am new to python and currently working on data anylisis wiith pandas. This morning I copied a companies information from the web and tried to read and print it into my IDE to no avail. I am convinced you will be of help. this is the code I entered,

import pandas as pd
from pandas import Series, DataFrame

#example revenue of different companies

revenue_df = pd.read_clipboard();
print(revenue_df)
and this error message keeps coming up.
Error:
C:\Users\fruad\PycharmProjects\example1\venv\Scripts\python.exe C:/Users/fruad/PycharmProjects/example1/DataFrame.py Traceback (most recent call last): File "C:/Users/fruad/PycharmProjects/example1/DataFrame.py", line 1, in <module> import pandas as pd File "C:\Users\fruad\PycharmProjects\example1\venv\lib\site-packages\pandas\__init__.py", line 145, in <module> from pandas.io.api import ( File "C:\Users\fruad\PycharmProjects\example1\venv\lib\site-packages\pandas\io\api.py", line 7, in <module> from pandas.io.clipboards import read_clipboard ImportError: cannot import name 'read_clipboard' from 'pandas.io.clipboards' (C:\Users\fruad\PycharmProjects\example1\venv\lib\site-packages\pandas\io\clipboards.py) Process finished with exit code 1
thanks for your time.
what version of pandas do you use?
and do you install any optional dependencies for Clipboard I/O
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

(Apr-17-2020, 09:24 AM)buran Wrote: what version of pandas do you use?
and do you install any optional dependencies for Clipboard I/O
i am using the latest version of python and no i have not installed any optional dependencies for for clipboard I/O. Let me look into that right away.
It's a bit not clear: