Python Forum
Create selection box to pass string value based on uniques in Excel column
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Create selection box to pass string value based on uniques in Excel column
Hello!

New to python but I'm trying, all advice is appreciated.

I have a master data sheet which I have loaded into a data frame. I have then been able to hard-code a value from the "Delivery BA" column in to return a data frame with only that value. I have also been able to list and count the unique values in the column. I currently have a cell which displays a string value of the filter criteria selected for the "Delivery BA" column.

What I would IDEALLY like to do is to be able to prompt the user with a selection box containing all the unique values in the column, and then, upon the user selecting a value, pass that value to the dataframe parameters so that it creates a dataframe with only that "Delivery BA" for entries, preferably without needing to access the value passed in the filter string cell.

I have searched and searched so I apologize if this has been answered already, or something similar.

Please see what little code I have so far.

Explanation of variables:
d: The number of entries in the column "Delivery BA"
g: Not sure what I was doing here; I believe trying to identify the column as "Delivery BA"
h: Entries for a particular company in the column
j: Accessing the cell containing the string value of the selected filter criteria
q: This didn't do what I wanted; I'm not sure now what I wanted
x: Unique values in "Delivery BA" column
y: The number of unique values in "Delivery BA" column. At time of writing, it sits at 739.
    import pandas

data = pandas.read_excel('Test Master.xlsx', header = None).values

print(data)
    df = pandas.DataFrame(data)
    new_header = df.iloc[0]
    df = df[0:]
    df.columns = new_header

d = df['Delivery BA'].value_counts()
    print(d)

g = df.groupby('Delivery BA', as_index = False)
    print(g)