Python Forum
Creating a delimited file from DB Table
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Creating a delimited file from DB Table
Hi there,

I am new to python (SAS background).
I have this requirement to create a PIPE delimited file from Netezza tables. I tried the following approach. However, nothing is being created. The tables are pretty huge in size (like 2 billion rows in some).

Please can you point out what am I doing wrong here.

import pyodbc
import csv
import sys

dbconn = <db connection > /* works fine */

dbcursor = connection.cursor() /* works fine */

dbcursor.execute("select column1, column2 from schema.table")
result=dbcursor .fetchall()
c = csv.writer(open("C:\location\output.dat","w+"), delimiter='|')
c.writerow(result)
c.close()
dbconn.close()
The code runs for about 20 minutes and the file has 0 rows.
There is nothing printed to the screen (i am running it using Python IDLE (v3.6)
Don't know much at all about Netezza, can you point to some docs?
There may be a better way to access other than ODBC
The file path is the source of your problem - C:\location\output.dat. Backslash is an escape symbol, giving a special meaning to to following character, e.g. \n.

Either prefix the path with r to make it a raw string - r'C:\location\output.dat', or use double backslash. Replacing backslash with a slash will work too.

PS IDLE is one of the worst Python environments, I would recommend switching to Spyder or Jupyter
Test everything in a Python shell (iPython, Azure Notebook, etc.)
  • Someone gave you an advice you liked? Test it - maybe the advice was actually bad.
  • Someone gave you an advice you think is bad? Test it before arguing - maybe it was good.
  • You posted a claim that something you did not test works? Be prepared to eat your hat.
(Sep-15-2018, 02:23 PM)volcano63 Wrote: The file path is the source of your problem - C:\location\output.dat. Backslash is an escape symbol, giving a special meaning to to following character, e.g. \n.