Python Forum
Decent GUI library?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Decent GUI library?
I just started coding with python. Before I used Java and for my GUIs I used Swing, which includes the Window Builder which is nice and handy. So I started looking for a good library in python to make GUIs. I found kivy and installed it, as well as the kivy designer, however the designer is deprecated and doesnt even work anymore. However it took my way too long to install kivy and get it running, and now it doesnt work, which kinda makes me mad.

So my question is, what is the best/decent GUI library for python with a designer?
Kivy is more for mobile apps. Are you making this for mobile apps or desktop?
PyQt has a designer.

WxPython has WxGlade for a designer i believe? I dont use designers so i am not familiar with the libraries designer aspects.
Recommended Tutorials:
(Apr-22-2020, 09:02 PM)metulburr Wrote: Kivy is more for mobile apps. Are you making this for mobile apps or desktop?
PyQt has a designer.

WxPython has WxGlade for a designer i believe? I dont use designers so i am not familiar with the libraries designer aspects.

Oh okay, yeah I make desktop ones. Then I will take a look at PyQt. Also why dont you use designers?
(Apr-22-2020, 09:02 PM)metulburr Wrote: WxPython has WxGlade for a designer i believe?
Yes, also wxFormBuilder, but I used wxGlade.

There is also Glade for GTK (PyGObject)
As to PyQt and QtDesigner - note there is also PySide as alternative to PyQt (see comparison). Also this recent link, posted by @Larz60+ in another thread https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n...le-Qt-Fork
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

There are several GUI libraries for Python. PyQt is one of the most complete ones.
It comes with a GUI designer, but you can also do it manually if you want.