Python Forum
Declaring a Global Variable in a Function
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Declaring a Global Variable in a Function
I am sorry. I know that this is probably a stupid question. But I am just learning Python and have spent hours trying to figure out what I am doing wrong when trying to declare a global variable in a function. What I am trying to do is modify a variable in the function so that the changed value will be associated with it outside the function. However, when I try to use the variable outside the function it reverts to the initial value set before it was changed, and of course if I don't set an initial value outside the function I get an error saying the variable is not defined. This is a simplified example of what I am trying to understand:

solution = 0

def perform_math():
    global solution
    x = 1
    x = 2
    solution = x + y
    return solution

print(solution)
The program prints 0 instead of 3 when I want it to print 3.
Well, you never call the function for one thing. Functions don't do anything until you call them. But really, globals are the wrong way to do this. Use return instead:

solution = 0

def perform_math(x, y):
    return x + y

solution = perform_math(1, 2)

print(solution)
Craig "Ichabod" O'Brien - xenomind.com
I wish you happiness.
Recommended Tutorials: BBCode, functions, classes, text adventures
Don't use globals unless absolutely necessary, it will get you in trouble as your programs grow longer.
pass arguments and return values instead.
Example:

def perform_math(x, y):
    return x + y
print(perform_math(1, 2))
result:
Output: