Python Forum
Deep learning for EMC tests
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Deep learning for EMC tests
Hello to all!

I am an electronics engineer and working as a hardware design engineer (I usually design Mainboard for Televisions). However, I am not unfamiliar with programming software, I am particularly good at embedded C with microcontroller applications.

So I just started using python. I have a project that is about deep learning of EMC (Electro Magnetic Compability) traits in televisions. Let me explain it in more detail. Every electronic device in the market is obliged to meet universal EMC regulations. One (and probably the most important one) of the EMC regulation tests is REM (radiated emission measurements) which measures the electromagnetic radiation emitted from the device under test by each angle, height and some other conditions. After we design and produce the television, before releasing the TV on market, we put the final product in EMC tests and in 99% of the cases, there is a REM problem. Do overcome this REM problem we spend hours to days even weeks in EMC laboratories (which is quite expensive). We do some certain types of modifications in the TV to meet the regulations. I will give you an example below. This is the first REM test of a product I designed:

[Image: FnM7mJW]
[Image: ZKGDCD8]

You will see the red thick regulation limits starting from 40 dBuV/m. You will also notice that the radiation level around 220 MHz is critically close to the limits. To prevent this risk I switched one of the screws in the mainboard from metal to isolated plastic and the new result was as below:

[Image: 6H1pHQF]
[Image: Rz16Mwn]