Python Forum
Dictionaries in Lists
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dictionaries in Lists
Hi there!

I started learning Python with the help of "Python Crash Course" by Eric Matthes. The progress is good, but I stuck at one of the exercises and sadly, the book doesn't have solutions given away. I tried checking several tutorials before asking here, but no luck. Sad Here's the task:

Quote:Make several dictionaries. In each dictionary, include keys and values. Store these dictionaries in a list. Next, loop through your list
and as you do print everything you know about each dictionary.

I got this far:

name1 = {'key': 'value', 'key2': 'value2', }
name2 = {'key3': 'value3', 'key4': 'value4', }
name3 = {'key5': 'value5', 'key6': 'value6', }

names = [name1, name2, name3]

for name in names:
#?????
    for keys, values in name.items():
        print("\t" + keys + ":" + values)
The code prints out the keys and values just fine, but even after trying many alternatives, I can't print out the names of the dictionaries. I only manage to print out the whole dictionary. My goal for the print output is this:

name1:
    key:value
    key2:value2
name2:
    key3:value3
    key4:value4
name3:
    key5:value5
    key6:value6
Any help is much appreciated!
why do you think you should print also variable name?
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

(Nov-05-2019, 11:45 AM)buran Wrote: why do you think you should print also variable name?

I'm not sure I have to, but as I start to understand, you can basically do anything you want in programming and now that I decided to print out the dictionaries names, which became a problem for me to solve, I definitely want to. Big Grin
Maybe you can make use of this:
dictionaries = {
    "name1": {'key1': 'value1', 'key2': 'value2'},
    "name2": {'key3': 'value3', 'key4': 'value4'},