Python Forum
Distance between two points!
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Distance between two points!
Help! I'm a total newbie when it comes to programming, I need my program to calculate the distance between two points. I got the first part of my assignment done, I created a function with the distance formula. Here is the second part, please... help :'(. I've been looking on the web for hours. 

Create another function named main that will be responsible for prompting the user for input and calling the distance function. Use exception handling to convert the user input to float. The user input should then be passed as arguments to distance with a function call. Store the return value from the distance function into a variable and then print the results in a pleasing format.

import math

def distance(x1,y1,x2,y2):
     dist = ((x1 - x2)**2 + (y1-y2)**2)**.5 
     return dist

def main(dist):
     try:
          x1 = float(input("Enter a Number: "))
          x2 = float(input("Enter a Second Number: "))
          y1 = float(input("Enter a third number: "))
          y2 = float(input("Enter a forth number: "))
     else:
          print(distance)
what units? latitude and longitude?
Yes, latitude and longitude.
(Apr-28-2017, 01:51 AM)zepel Wrote: ......
Use exception handling to convert the user input to float.
That is plain stupid! You don't use exceptions that way.

(Apr-28-2017, 01:51 AM)zepel Wrote:
import math

def distance(x1,y1,x2,y2):
     dist = ((x1 - x2)**2 + (y1-y2)**2)**.5 
     return dist

def main(dist):
     try:
          x1 = float(input("Enter a Number: "))
          x2 = float(input("Enter a Second Number: "))
          y1 = float(input("Enter a third number: "))
          y2 = float(input("Enter a forth number: "))
     else:
          print(distance)
Besides unlucky wording of prompt (covered by @Larz60+):
  1. You use try/except wrong (and you don't nee exception handling)