Python Forum
Pip dependency install problems
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pip dependency install problems
Hello everyone,
I hope I am in the right forum for this kind of question.
As a developer I am used to C# as of now, but I am intrigued by Python.
Currently, I am trying to get a python project from a paper going.

From raw audio to a seamless mix: creating an automated DJ system for Drum and Bass
The repository I tried to get running: https://bitbucket.org/ghentdatascience/dj

So far though, I have hit a couple of brick walls. I will be using Windows for the main environment once I've figured out the pip installation issues.
To make it easy to replicate, I have decided to use a live-version of Ubuntu 16.04 LTS as an OS to have a clean 'installation' for testing purposes.

The way I tried getting the Python app to run:
  1. Get Ubuntu up to date
  2. Getting Pip
  3. Installing the dependencies listed on the README.md in order using pip install <name>==<version>

Now, at this point, any library which depends on llvmlite, like librosa, fails to install as llvmlite itself is failing to install.
Even cleaning everything up and restarting the procedure and manually installing llvmlite does not work.

This is the message I get, captured from my windows machine (the error message seems to be the exact same except for paths):
Error: