Python Forum
Extracting data from tweets and saving it as CSV
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Extracting data from tweets and saving it as CSV
Hello! I am new to the programming and learn everything in Python from scratch. 

My goal is to (1) import tweets from a JSON file, (2) pull out the data of interest from the tweets, and (3) save the extracted data to a CSV. Building on the examples provided by other users online, I came up with the following code.

# import necessary modules
import json
from csv import writer

# import tweets from JSON 
with open('00.json') as in_file, \
     open('test.csv', 'w') as out_file:
    print >> out_file, 'ids, text, lang, geo, place'
    csv = writer(out_file)
    tweet_count = 0

for line in in_file:
        tweet_count += 1
        tweet = json.loads(line)

# Pull out various data from the tweets
        row = (
            tweet['id_str'],                # author_id
            tweet['text'],                  # tweet_time
            tweet['lang'],                  # tweet_language
            tweet['geo'],                   # tweet_geo
            tweet['place'],                 # tweet_place
        )
        values = [(value.encode('utf8') if hasattr(value, 'encode') else value) for value in row]
        csv.writerow(values)

# print the name of the file and number of tweets imported
print ("File Imported:"), str('00.json')
print ("# Tweets Imported:"), tweet_count
print ("File Exported:"), str('test.csv')

However, there seems to be a problem that falls out of my comprehension  Wall And for that I am seeking your help. I include the error message below:

Error: