Python Forum
Finally switched to Linux Mint from OpenSuse Leap 15
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Finally switched to Linux Mint from OpenSuse Leap 15
Just thought I'd mention. I've been saying I was going to make the switch for several months now.
The process was smooth as silk. I added my laser printer as the first task, took all of 5 minutes from start to finish (on OpenSuse this took me several hours). Installed pyenv with no issues whatsoever, and several versions of python including 3.7.1.

I feel like I was a masochist after seeing the useless pain I went through to make OpenSuse just marginally work for me.

After this experience, I would cross OpenSuse off the list for any serious python developer.
Love Linux Mint! Have been using it since... like 2011? Never looked back :)
I am using Mint for a long time. As a second system. But it comes from Ubuntu which has to be reinstalled after each LTS release. Sometimes the dependencies are messed up. This is why I am using Arch. It's the most stable system I run so far. Mint is a pretty good though. And constantly developed also. I think it's the most preferred Linux distro.
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org
I used Mint way back, when it was quite new (prior to 2010), and then when I constructed my current computer loaded MS Windows 7 because I needed it for a contract. When I went back to Linux, I loaded OpenSuse, can't remember exactly why, but I probably read something that I liked about it. Mint has matured since I used it last, and so far it's a pleasure to use.
I had a touch with OpenSuse years ago. I didn't manage to do anything. Even to update the system. It was a really bad experience.
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org
I've been on Mint for a year. Set up my DellXPS to dual boot with Win10.
It's quite NICE!
Phil

Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post