Python Forum
First line of File gets deleted when reading file
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
First line of File gets deleted when reading file
Hi everyone,

im quite new to python, especially to reading and writing files. 
I now wrote a script which was intended to read a "csv utf-8" file, scan a code (as a normal keyboard-input), append the current time in the list and ovwerwrite the file with the new time. Since i couldn't find another way, I let the script overwrite the whole file.

But the script is having a big issue. Whenever I overwrite the file, stop and restart the script, the first line of the table gets deleted. It must happen anytime during the second read process because the file is intact after stopping the script and opening it with excel.

In hope that you will be able to help me,

lrxM

import csv                                                                                                      #import plugins
import time

def writeTime(tableRead):
        print(tableRead[tempScan][1], tableRead[tempScan][0])
        with open("G:\SaS\IT\Alle.csv","w", newline = "") as csvfile:
                print(tableRead[0])
                presentTime = time.ctime(time.time())[11:-8]
                tableRead[tempScan].append(presentTime)
                tableRead.insert(0,"Schutzkappe")
                overwrite = csv.writer(csvfile, delimiter=';', quoting=csv.QUOTE_MINIMAL)
                overwrite.writerows(tableRead)
                print(tableRead[0])
                print(presentTime)
                print("Time was written successfully!")
                print()

with open("G:\SaS\IT\Alle.csv") as csvfile:                                                                     #file as variable, with closes the file in the memory after work is done