Python Forum
First program feedback
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
First program feedback
Hi,

I am new to python and i have been using it for 2 days now and have so far learnt statements and loops e.g. the while/for loops and elif statements etc. I have created a program based on a practice exercise question i found on the internet and have created my first program. Its a pointless program which just asks a user for a password and to keep asking a few times if entered wrong and grant access if correct. (Took me about an hour to write this hahhahaha but proud of myself). Anyway, i was wondering if anyone could have a look at it and see if theres any bad habits ive picked up or anyway i coulf iron the code out to make it look neater or just general feedback. Any advice would be appreciated. I have included it below.

print ('Please enter password')
password = input ()
n = 4
while password != 'swordfish':
    while n > 1:
        print ('Incorrect password. Try again. The number of attempts remaining is ' + str(n-1))
        n = n - 1
        password = input()
        while n == 1:
            print ('Access Blocked')
            break
if password == 'swordfish':
    print ('Access granted')
Edit: indentations are not showing on this post. here is a screenshot of it https://ibb.co/n7XuHn
Ok. Its been some time since you've posted this but still here is your feedback.
Here is the output I got for entering a wrong password (is it meant to do that?)
Please enter password
hello
Incorrect password. Try again. The number of attempts remaining is 3
swordfish
Incorrect password. Try again. The number of attempts remaining is 2
swordfish
Incorrect password. Try again. The number of attempts remaining is 1
swordfish
Access Blocked
Access granted
>>> 
Also, you can do this instead. for line 1 and 6
>>> input('Enter something: ')
Is pretty much the same as

>>> print('Enter something: ')
>>> input()