Python Forum
Function will not load from a module
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Function will not load from a module
I have a tkinter window, master2.py This window has 14 buttons. Click a button and another window opens. The windows all help me make html for my homework pages, like radio buttons or checkboxes or html tables.

All the functions to make html are in a module guiHTML.py and this works fine, does just what I want.

All the html is saved in a file called "paragraph". When "paragraph" is ready, I click a button in the "master2.py" window called "make the webpage". it asks me a couple of questions, then puts "paragraph" in the html template file. This also works fine.

Because "guiHTML.py" was getting quite long (2674 lines), I thought I would put the function "makeWebpage.py" in another module. I called the module "makeWebpage1.py".

At the top of the master window "master2.py" I have this to import what I need, including my modules "guiHTML" and "makeWebpage1":

import os, sys    
# to import the files we need the paths
path = '/home/pedro/myPython/myModules/'

# append the paths
sys.path.append(path)

import tkinter as tk
from tkinter import *
from functools import partial      
import guiHTML
import makeWebpage1
In the master2 window I have a function:

def openMakewebpage():
    #call the makePage function defined in the makeWebpage1 module
    makeWebpage1.makeWebpage()
and a button:

btn14 = tk.Button(frame1, text='open make webpage', command=openMakewebpage)
btn14.grid(columnspan=2, column=0, row=8, sticky='w', pady=10)
Strangely, the button does not open the window to make the webpage. All other functions, defined in "guiHTML" work fine.

If I put the function "makeWebpage()" in the module guiHTML.py and set:

def openMakewebpage():
    #call the makePage function defined in the guiHTML module
    guiHTML.makeWebpage()
Everything works fine, the function "makeWebpage()" opens normally and does its job!!