Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Game inputs skipping
Hey, I am trying to make a game in python. I am by no means a good programmer so I am very sorry if my terminology is incorrect, or my code is just not good in general. Anyway, my game is supposed to work as follows, the game would tell you about the scenario, you enter a response. There will be two defined answers, with a few exceptions just in case of typos, one defined answer should allow you to continue, while the other provides a different text but allows you to re answer. Every time you use the correct answer that progresses the story, it should provide a second response and either change or delete the previous version of the input, making it so you cant re answer the same prompts over again, or skip prompts. But because of the way it is, for some reason it wont let me get past my first prompt at all if I use an incorrect input, and on the second prompt it always skips that as well. oh, and any undefined input should respond with "I'm sorry, I do not understand." Once again, sorry for being a newb, thanks for the help!

import sys,time,random
def print_slow(str):
    for letter in str:
        sys.stdout.write(letter)
        sys.stdout.flush()
        time.sleep(0.025)

print_slow("You pull up to your old childhood house. It is 3 am and you are exauhsted. You havent been here in six years. You are back because your mother mailed you a note, with a key saying that there is a present waiting for you inside. The key and the note are in the glovebox. Taking off your seatbelt and turning off the car, you sit in the silence.")
print("")
print("")

userInput = input("EnterCommand:")

#First Option

if userInput == "leave car":
    print_slow("you can't get in the house without the key, so you might want to grab that first.")
    print ("")
    print(userInput)

elif userInput == "Leave car":
    print_slow("you can't get in the house without the key, so you might want to grab that first.")