Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
General Grok Help
if room == "middle":
  print("Actions available: forward, backward, look")
  action = input("> ")
  if action == "forward":
    room = "end"
  elif action == "backward":
    room = "start"
  else:
    room = "middle"
This is the output:
Output:
Actions available: forward, look > look You are standing at the entrance to a long tunnel. Actions available: forward, look > forward You are in the depths of the tunnel. Actions available: forward, backward, look > backward You are standing at the entrance to a long tunnel. Actions available: forward, look > forward You are in the depths of the tunnel. Actions available: forward, backward, look > look You are in the depths of the tunnel. Actions available: forward, backward, look > forward You have escaped the tunnel. You win!
I am currently studying Grok The Dark Tunnel (Python)
Hour of Code: The Dark Tunnel, spent quiet some time, if anyone is able to point out what i am missing or misplaced please help, iv been getting so many syntax errors I really need your help guys !

Huh Idea Idea Angel
Please post the error. Full code would help, and this forum has a tutorial for efficiently making a text adventure game here - https://python-forum.io/Thread-Text-Adve...dictionary
 if room == "You are in the depths of the tunnel.":
  print("Actions available: forward, backward, look")
  action = input("> ")
  if action == "forward":
    room = "You have escaped the tunnel. You win!"
  elif action == "backward":
    room = "You are standing at the entrance to a long tunnel."
  print('Actions available: forward, backward, look')
  action = input("> ")
  else: "forward"
    room = "You are in the depths of the tunnel."
  print('You have escaped the tunnel. You win!')
Error:
File "program.py", line 10 else: "forward" ^ SyntaxError: invalid syntax
Output: