Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
General Python code for Newbie
My question here:
Hi all, i am new to the python scripting language. I have a requirement that to compare the two excel files. 
Requirement is: Many excel files are downloaded everyday. we have to compare the today's excel file with yesterday's excel file. 
and the difference should be highlighted as red and Exclamatory mark. Can anybody help me. This task is going to decide my job. please help me. Thank you all.
Q1. How can i get the two exact same files today's and yesterday's excel file.
Q2. How to compare the two excels.
Q3. How can i highlight in red and exclamatory mark.
(Apr-26-2017, 05:34 AM)Ramakrishna Wrote: My question here:
Hi all, i am new to the python scripting language. I have a requirement that to compare the two excel files. 
Requirement is: Many excel files are downloaded everyday. we have to compare the today's excel file with yesterday's excel file. 
and the difference should be highlighted as red and Exclamatory mark. Can anybody help me. This task is going to decide my job. please help me. Thank you all.
Q1. How can i get the two exact same files today's and yesterday's excel file.
Q2. How to compare the two excels.
How "new" to python are you? This is not really basic I don't think? I would read the files into separate lists, todaysList[ ] and yesterdaysList[ ],  then iterate every item in yesterdaysList[ ] in comparison to todaysList[ ]. As far as highlighting the differences. I'm a newbie to python as well so this is all the info I could give you... lol. Did you want direction or someone to actually write the code for you to use? I guess I should learn how to work with spreed sheets huh lmao
OS? There are good comparison tools coming with almost every Linux installation.
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org