Python Forum
Getting remote addresses from database
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
Getting remote addresses from database
Hi, im looking to make a program that connects to 20+ remote machines and runs some commands on them and also downloads some files from them.

Because the number of remote hosts is high and will increase in future, i was thinking i would make a simple database (mysql) that has id, description and ip_add field, the program would then get the ip's that it should connect to from the database. I would also make a simple .php site for adding and removing remote hosts from the database.

Does this kind of setup make any sense? Or is there some other solution that anyone can think off?

Im just starting to learn python so im not sure if what i have planned makes any sense.

For the actual connecting to remote hosts i was thinking of using paramiko.

(no coding done yet, still on planning phase, sorry)

Thanks
I think this is what you need: https://github.com/0rpc/zerorpc-python
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org
(May-11-2017, 05:02 PM)desudesu Wrote: desudesuDoes this kind of setup make any sense?
Yes,but not the php site Undecided
Look into Fabric(port to 3) or Ansible.
Ansible is a very powerful,so if want to connect to many remote host i can be worth looking into.
Eg Strategies

Quote:All hosts will run each task before any host starts the next task, using the number of forks (default 5) to parallelize.

Quote:A second strategy ships with ansible free, which allows each host to run until the end of the play as fast as it can.:
Hi, read up on ansible a little, bit, it seems its mainly used in running simple tasks on servers, not sure if it can do the complex things i would need it to do.