Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Guessing game
Hello everyone, I am new to python and decided to create a guessing game. So imported the random module and the user must guess a number between 1 - 9. Simple right. For some reason, I am having trouble because I created a try again function where after the user exceeds 5 tries or if they guessed the correct number the program asked them if they want to play again. I want everyone's input on what went wrong. Again I am new and am still learning, however, I am a sponge that wants to learn. Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thank you!

import random as random

i = True
guess_count = 0
leftover = 5

def try_again():
    while True:
        yes_no = input("Would you like to play again? ").lower()
        if yes_no == "yes":
            i = True
        else:
            i = False

while i: # while i is equal to true
    user_guess = int(input("Choose a number from 1 - 9: ")) # User inputs a number
    cpu_num = random.randint(1,9)

if (user_guess != cpu_num) and (guess_count < 5): # user guess does not equal to computer number and guess count is less than 5
        if user_guess < cpu_num: # user guess is lower than computer number
            print(f"{user_guess} is too low of a guess. You have " + str(leftover) + " guesses left.")
            guess_count += 1 # increment by one
            leftover -= 1 # decrease by one
        else: # user guess is higher than computer number
            print(f"{user_guess} is too high of a guess. You have " + str(leftover) + " guesses left")
            guess_count += 1 # increment by one
            leftover -= 1 # decrease by one
    else: # if user is correct
        print("You are Dj Khaled. All you do is WIN! ") # you won
        i = False
        try_again()
        if guess_count > 5: # track the guess count
            print("Out of guesses. Would you like to try again? ") # prompt to try again
            print(cpu_num)
            i = False