Python Forum
'Hello, World!' Problem - Urgent
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
'Hello, World!' Problem - Urgent
Hello, I'm new to programming and you probably already realized that I'm a noob after reading the title of this thread.
Anyway, I use the atom editor, and as interpreter I want to use PowerShell.
I have changed the directory path to where my hello.py file is located, and yet when I write 'python 3 hello.py' 'hello.py' or even 'python3' it either says the file doesnt exist, or forces me to open the python cmd instead of actually running the program!

[Image: PhtdV5F.png]

Thank you in advance!
Big Grin
As youre running under windows the command will probably be:

python3.exe hello.py

I cant verify this as I'm running linux.

The answer is in the python doc:

https://docs.python.org/3.3/using/windows.html

You need to install the python installer for windows.
[Image: O65IH]

Still not working
If you change the extension to .pyw, you can double click on it and it will run.
Craig "Ichabod" O'Brien - xenomind.com
I wish you happiness.
Recommended Tutorials: BBCode, functions, classes, text adventures
(Sep-06-2017, 08:52 PM)ichabod801 Wrote: If you change the extension to .pyw, you can double click on it and it will run.

Same shit, different extension lol.
Presuming you have installed Python correctly, you should know that Python uses the command terminal by default, not PowerShell. If you file is something like:
print("hello world")
When you type "hello.py" in PowerShell, Python will open a command terminal window, print "hello world" then close the window. This happens faster than the human eye can register, so you should run it from a command terminal rather than PowerShell.

As to the problem you refer to, sounds as if the Environmental Variables may not be set. You can verify this by typing in a command terminal (not PowerShell) C:\> PATH , you should see the following entries:

Output:
C:\>PATH PATH=C:\Python36\Scripts\;C:\Python36\;