Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help With Error Handling
Hello - I am new to python and am attempting to validate that the user input is a number with my script. I have the below syntax, but instead of actually presenting my expected message, I get the below...

What do I need to change in my python syntax in order to get my desired error message?

Error:
Traceback (most recent call last): File "<ipython-input-8-cfa0bf62612b>", line 1, in <module> runfile('/home/owner/.config/spyder/temp.py', wdir='/home/owner/.config/spyder') File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/spyder_kernels/customize/spydercustomize.py", line 668, in runfile execfile(filename, namespace) File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/spyder_kernels/customize/spydercustomize.py", line 100, in execfile builtins.execfile(filename, *where) File "/home/owner/.config/spyder/temp.py", line 24, in <module> age = inputage("How old are you?") File "/home/owner/.config/spyder/temp.py", line 16, in inputage userInput = int(input(message)) File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/ipykernel/ipkernel.py", line 176, in <lambda> builtin_mod.input = lambda prompt='': eval(self.raw_input(prompt)) File "<string>", line 1, in <module> NameError: name 's' is not defined
And this is the syntax that I am trying:
def inputage(message):
  while True:
    try:
       userInput = int(input(message))       
    except ValueError:
       print("Not an integer! Try again.")
       continue
    else:
       return userInput 
       break 

age = inputage("How old are you?")

if (age>=18):
  print("You are over 18")
else:
  print("You are under 18")
If you get that error when you run your code its not coming from the code you posted here. The code you posted here works just as you would expect.
input in Python 2 evaluates your input as a Python expression - see the docs; looks like you entered s - and the interpreter looks for a variable named s to return its value
Output: