Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help appreciated
Hello! If anyone can help me with this please, I'm new to python and I know this is probably super easy for you guys but I just can't figure it out Wall ...

Sort the list ids by the last four digits of each id. Do this using lambda and not using a defined function. Save this sorted list in the variable sorted_id

ids = [17573005, 17572342, 17579000, 17570002, 17572345, 17579329]
What have you tried?
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org
You should start from the beginning. I would start with breaking task into smaller pieces:

- how to get last four digits of an integer
- how to sort (generally) in Python

During this I would keep my eyes open where and how lambda can be used.

You may also think this way: sorting is probably needed quite often and probably there is some built-in method or function for that. I would look for those using Python built-in help.
I'm not 'in'-sane. Indeed, I am so far 'out' of sane that you appear a tiny blip on the distant coast of sanity. Bucky Katt, Get Fuzzy

Da Bishop: There's a dead bishop on the landing. I don't know who keeps bringing them in here. ....but society is to blame.
Any normal sort function would do. The 1757 prefix is common to all, so any sort function will work only on the last 4 digits.
Look @ this,
ids = [17573005, 17572342, 17579000, 17570002, 17572345, 17579329]
i = []
[i.append(str(id).split('1757')[1]) for id in ids]
j=sorted(i)
sorted_id = ['1757'+id for id in j]
print(sorted_id)
where´s the lambda function?
Unfortunately OP has shown no effort. As this is homework I will not provide solutions to this particular problem but to similar problem: 'get integer from the list which has smallest value of last two digits'

There are two tasks:

- how to get last two digits
- how to get minimum value

For first task it's practical to use reminder operator:

>>> 123 % 10
>>> 123 % 100