Python Forum
Help me understand a simple list comprehension
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help me understand a simple list comprehension
Hi All,

I'm a Python newbie, so this is probably a very simple (perhaps stupid) question that I'm asking...but for the life of me, I cannot understand how the code below works...to give the output it does:

Okay, just to clarify though...that code pertains to NumPy...so not really a straight Python question per se.

import numpy as np
np.array([range(i, i + 3) for i in [2, 4, 6]])
The result from the above is as follows:

[[2, 3, 4],
[4, 5, 6],
[6, 7, 8]]

If someone could please help me understand what is going on (within the "np.array()" portion), which produces the numbers in the 3D array, that would be super helpful Smile

I specifically cannot understand what the first part does i.e. "range(i, i + 3)"...and how it has any bearing on/relation to the second part i.e. "for i in [2, 4, 6]"

I might as well throw in another question: Can something like this (3D array) be achieved in straight-up Python as well? If yes, how?

Thanks.
Ah, yes, list comprehensions. They're a trip when you first learn about them.

The portion you're referencing is equivalent to:

out = []
for i in [2, 4, 6]:
    out.append(list(range(i, i + 3)))
It will loop over the list [2, 4, 6] assigning the variable "i" to the value of the current iteration each time. So, the first time through, i = 2; the second time, i = 4; etc.

The range() function returns an iterator starting at the first value provided and incrementing to the second value. So, range(i, i + 3) will start at "i" and end at "i + 3". For the first iteration of the loop, i = 2 and the call will be for range(2, 5), which can be used to produce the list [2, 3, 4].