Python Forum
Help with Code (Writing Data File)
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help with Code (Writing Data File)
Hello,

I'm extremely new to Python and I was recently given some code for a study I'm working on, however it seems to contain some errors. I was able to fix some of the minor ones, but I'm still unable to get it running all the way through.

I'm currently getting errors regarding how the data file is being written. Posted below is the code leading up to and including the section that's been giving me trouble. Hopefully this is enough context. If I could have any advice on what the issue might be here and on any other errors in this section of the script I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

from psychopy import visual, gui, core, event
import random as random
import os

#set directory path
path=os.getcwd()

#set number of trials
numtrials=100

#make a GUI to collect participant number
COVATDlg=gui.Dlg(title="Covert Orienting Task")
COVATDlg.addText('Participant Number', color='black')
COVATDlg.addField('Participant ID:')
COVATDlg.addField('Age:')
COVATDlg.addField('Gender:',choices=['male','female'])
COVATDlg.addField('Handedness:',choices=['left','right','both'])
COVATDlg.show()
if gui.OK:
    startInfo=COVATDlg.data
    print('startInfo')
else: print('cancelled')

#set window

screen_size=(1366,768)
win=visual.Window(size=screen_size,color=(-1,-1,-1),units='pix',fullscr=True)

#initialise data file - refer to 'startInfo' above for participant number
dataFile=startInfo[0]
dataHeader=["Participant","Age","Gender","Handedness","Trial","Cue Side", "SOA","Target Type","RT"]
dataFile.write(",".join(dataHeader) + "\n")
dataFile.flush()

#Create function to write data 
def recordData(pt,age,gender,hand,trialnum,cue,soa,val,rt):
    dataFile.write(",".join([str(pt),str(age),str(gender),str(hand),str(trialnum),str(cue),str(soa),str(val),str(rt)])+"\n")
    dataFile.flush()