Python Forum
IFC entities extracted twice
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
IFC entities extracted twice
Greetings for the day,
I am new with the coding world. I am using Python and IfcOpenShell to work on IFC files.
I want to use a command ifc.open but it is not working. I am using Python 2.7.
Please help me with this issue.
Thank you.
Quote:fc.open but it is not working
How so?
Please post code, and error messages (complete, unmodified)
Use BBCode tags
(Mar-17-2019, 07:17 AM)Larz60+ Wrote:
Quote:fc.open but it is not working
How so?
Please post code, and error messages (complete, unmodified)
Use BBCode tags
Thank you for your reply. Below given are the links to code and error:-

Code:- CODE
Error:- ERROR
As Larz said, you should be posting in code tags. You're far less likely to get a reply if people have to go off-site. Also, I haven't looked at the links but the shorter the code the better - if you can reproduce your problem in 5-10 runnable lines of code rather than hundreds, you'll be substantially more likely to get a reply (and faster at that).
(Mar-19-2019, 02:26 AM)micseydel Wrote: As Larz said, you should be posting in code tags. You're far less likely to get a reply if people have to go off-site. Also, I haven't looked at the links but the shorter the code the better - if you can reproduce your problem in 5-10 runnable lines of code rather than hundreds, you'll be substantially more likely to get a reply (and faster at that).

Thank you for your reply. I will definitely use BBCodes while posting any question.

from __future__ import print_function

f = ifc.open("C:\Users\GURBHEJ SINGH\Desktop\Beam_Material.ifc")
f2 = ifc.open("test22.ifc")

directions = f.by_type("ifcdirection")
for direction in directions:
   f2.add(direction)

beams = f.by_type("IFCBEAM")
for beam in beams:
   f2.add(beam)

f2.write("test22.ifc")
Error: