Python Forum
Help with Python technologies and structure code
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help with Python technologies and structure code
Hello everybody,

I am new to Pyhton and already appreciating its power. I am building a little desktop app and i need somesuggestions, i hope this will help me to learn a lot.

I have some data in a database and i simply need to read the data and write it in a an Excel file. I also need to, depending on the data output, send email notification with plots. This is all. At some point i will have a scheduling to automatically start the script, but for now i need to make a simple GUI as well.

At the moment i am using the follwoing technologies, i hope you can tell me if there is something better:

- Using Python 2.7. What's the biggest difference with python 3?

- Tkinter: i am using Tkinter for the GUI, however i saw that lately PyQt is getting really famous. Which is better?

- MySql Python connector: here is my bigger doubt. I am reading data by directly accessing the database.
However, i read that is best to use a Query builder or an ORM for this purpose. I read that Django is a very
famous ORM for Python but i can see it is mostly used for back-end website programming. Would be possible
to use it for this purpose as well or itjust fits website projects? How do you then suggest to structure the
code? there should be a neat division between DjangoCode, GUI and app?

- Openpyxl: i find this tool very easy to write to Excel files.

- Email and plots: Haven't looked into it yet, but i was reaing about Plotly for plots. I havent looked for
a library for sending e-mails yet

Here it is all my doubts, i would really appreciate some help. I am new to Python and willing to learn and i think this project could be a good start-off.

Thanks
(Aug-11-2018, 06:40 PM)giu88 Wrote: Using Python 2.7. What's the biggest difference with python 3?

Use python3, python2 support ends January 1st, 2020