Python Forum
Help with lists and class objects
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help with lists and class objects
So, I want to make an inventory system, if the user has an item, it puts it into a list called inventory. The item is an object inside a class, and if I put the object from the class into the inventory list and when I print out the inventory, I want to show up as the the items name.

inventory = []

class items():
    def __init__(self, item):
        self.item = item

sword = items('sword')
inventory.append(sword)

print(inventory)
I want it to print Sword, not [<__main__.items object at 0x7f36f0a8a750>]
hopefulle I explained this decently, I'm new to Python :)
For that, you'll need to write some code for items.__repr__(). That dunder method is called whenever the object is printed.
Sorry but I don't understand what __repr__() is, would you mind explaining? and how would I add that to my code?
https://docs.python.org/3/reference/data...t.__repr__

check also

https://docs.python.org/3/reference/data...ct.__str__
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

(Jan-13-2020, 07:21 PM)AlluminumFoil Wrote: would you mind explaining? and how would I add that to my code?
inventory = []
class Items:
    def __init__(self, item):
        self.item = item

def __str__(self):
        return f'The item is: {self.item}'

def __repr__(self):
        return f'Items({self.item!r})'
Use:
>>> sword = Items('sword')
>>> 
>>> # Call __str__
>>> print(sword)
The item is: sword
>>> 
>>> # Call __repr__
>>> sword
Items('sword')
This is a standard way to use it.
__str__ here can add text that give more info about the object.
__repr__ Give raw info about object intended more as a aid for developers and debugging.