Python Forum
How Do I Determine indentation in AST?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How Do I Determine indentation in AST?
I am new to Python though I have many, many years of programming experience. Using Python 3.6.5 on Fedora 28, I am investigating automatic generation of docstrings. To start with, I have created the following script just to work out some of the details:

import ast
import astor
import inspect

source = '''
class cl:
    """This is doc for cl class"""

pass'''

tree = ast.parse(source)
for node in ast.iter_child_nodes(tree):
    if isinstance(node, ast.ClassDef):
        body = node.body[0]
        body.value.s += "\n\n    More documentation."
        doc = ast.get_docstring(node)
        print(doc)
        print()

src = ast.dump(tree)
print(src)
print()
newsource = astor.to_source(tree)
print(newsource)
print()
newSrc = inspect.cleandoc(newsource)
print(newSrc)
At line 15, I am adding text to the docstring for the class and have included 4 spaces at the beginning of the text because that fits the existing source code. How do I determine the indentation in general?

Here is the output from running the script:

Output:
This is doc for cl class More documentation. Module(body=[ClassDef(name='cl', bases=[], keywords=[], body=[Expr(value=Str(s='This is doc for cl class\n\n More documentation.')), Pass()], decorator_list=[])]) class cl: """This is doc for cl class More documentation.""" pass class cl: """This is doc for cl class More documentation.""" pass
PEP 257 should help
https://www.python.org/dev/peps/pep-0257...ndentation
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

(Jul-01-2018, 02:20 PM)buran Wrote: PEP 257 should help
https://www.python.org/dev/peps/pep-0257...ndentation