Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
while loop stumbling block
Hey guys, I am very new to coding so please bare with me. I am busy with a python bootcamp trying to learn as much as quick as I can. I am currently busy with loops, while loops in particular. What I need to make the program do:

ask a user via input command to enter all student names and once he enters "Stop" the loop of asking him/her to enter the next name must stop. I think I have that part sorted. The next part is my struggle:

After the user enters: "Stop" :

The names of the students needs to be printed out, without the "Stop" being printed as that is obviously not a students name.

My attempt at coding the above looks like this:

names = input("Enter student name: ")
while names != "Stop":
    if names == "Stop":
        print(names)
So the result I am getting is the phrase "Stop" being printed instead of the student names entered prior to "Stop"

I would deeply appreciate some assistance.
Thanks in advance.

The YoungGrassHopper
You need two variables: one for the name most recently entered, and one for the list of names that have been entered. Call them next_name and names. The input statement goes to next_name. If that's 'stop', you break out of the loop and print names. Otherwise, you append next_name to names.
Craig "Ichabod" O'Brien - xenomind.com
I wish you happiness.
Recommended Tutorials: BBCode, functions, classes, text adventures
Thanks for the prompt response ichabod801 I really appreciate it stacks.
(Sep-09-2019, 06:35 PM)ichabod801 Wrote: You need two variables: one for the name most recently entered, and one for the list of names that have been entered. Call them next_name and names. The input statement goes to next_name. If that's 'stop', you break out of the loop and print names. Otherwise, you append next_name to names.

Ok,

I gave it a try, but what I am getting is only the first name printed and not more than one name.